school board elections matter

Eight candidates have filed to run for three seats on the Somers District #29 Board of Trustees.

Current Board Chair Mary Obermiller has decided not to seek re-election, as has Trustee Annie Aiken.  Scott Simonson is the lone incumbent seeking to continue service on the Board.

The other candidates include John Byers, Kristin Darling, Carrie Eklund, Kimberly Eisenlohr, Leif Hallstrom, Matt Shaffer, and Lane Smith.

Mail ballots will be sent to registered voters on April 15th.  Ballots may be returned by mail or dropped off at Somers Middle School.  Completed ballots are due by 8:00 P.M. on May 3rd.